Done with Doxy

I found out the hard way that the instructions provided with Doxycycline to take it on an empty stomach isn’t the best way to take it. It didn’t bother me at first, but the last couple days, I was starting to get really sick. I was taking it in the morning before breakfast and at night before bed.

I did some research and nearly everything I read advised to take it with food AND not to take it before lying down (i.e. right before bed). Apparently, it does a job on your esophogas if you don’t allow gravity to take it down.

So, ask your doc or pharmacist what they recommend or you might be in for some intestinal misery.

Took my final dose last night. Not sure it did anything, but have an appt with the ID next week to see what’s next.

About Bob Connors

Doing what I can to make our nation more resilient

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi Bob. Did you receive only seven days of treatment? What dose of Doxy did you take?

    One week of treatment is not long enough especially if you have had Lyme for months. Were you tested for the co-infections ticks can transmit: Babesiosis, Ehrlichiosis, Bartonella, and Mycoplasma?

    It is important to get proper treatment. Often, infectious disease doctors are not the best to see for tick-borne illnesses. Feel free to email me at ko_@bellsouth.net for Lyme doctor recommendations in your area.

    • Hi. I believe it was two weeks at 2x/day. The ID doc did test for other diseases and I assume since he didn’t call me back, I’m ok, but have an appt this week to find out for sure.

      I’ll e-mail you. My ID doc is Dr. Venu Saddi. He came highly recommended, so hopefully, he was on your list.

      Thanks for the response! Was wondering if anyone was actually reading 😉

  2. Hi Bob. Two weeks is not long enough treatment even for a new infection. 200 mg of Doxy is not strong enough for Lyme. I believe the recommended dose is 300-600 mg daily with 400 mg daily often prescribed. You may want to read through Dr. Burrascano’s Treatement Guidelines at http://www.ilads.org/lyme_disease/B_guidelines_12_17_08.pdf Many Lyme knowledgeable doctors follow his treatment guidelines. He lists recommended antibiotics and dosages starting on page 18.

    I recommend getting copies of all your test results. It is very important to learn as much as you can so you can get the best treatment.

    I will give you doctor recommendations when you email me.

Leave a Reply

